Samsara Eco and Epiwatch shine at the 2022 InnovationAus Awards

Corrie McLeod, Publisher at

Samsara Eco, pioneer of infinite recycling to solve plastic pollution, took out two awards at the second annual InnovationAus Awards for Excellence on Thursday evening, including the Australian Hero and Energy & Renewables trophies. The coveted People’s Choice Award was taken by data intelligence innovator, Epiwatch, developed to prevent future pandemics. 

Held at The Cutaway at Barangaroo Reserve in Sydney, the awards featured a keynote address from The Hon Ed Husic MP, Federal Minister for Industry and Science. With more than 440 guests at the event, the 2022 InnovationAus Awards for Excellence recognised the depth and breadth of talent that Australia produces across a broad swathe of sectors.

The event also featured addresses from NSW Minister for Customer Service and Minister for Digital, Hon Victor Dominello MP and Hon Paul Fletcher MP, Manager of Opposition Business in the House, Shadow Minister for Government Services and the Digital Economy and Shadow Minister for Science and the Arts; and Katie Knight, Interim CEO of Investment NSW

What were thoughts on awards?

“We are privileged to speak with many supporters of Australian innovation throughout the year at,” said editorial director, James Riley. 

“These awards are a chance to celebrate the brightest and best of the incredible wealth of research, development and ideation that we believe should be recognised every single day.”

“We hope the recipients of these awards will continue to be celebrated in the houses of Parliament, in board rooms and also in the living rooms of anyone with a burning desire to inspire the next generation of smart young Australians,” further said James Riley. 

“We are absolutely delighted to bring together the best of the best in the technology sector and celebrate the enormous talent within this truly innovative ecosystem – today’s winners and finalists have shown us that if we are ambitious and smart about the way that we do things there are tremendous opportunities in front of us,” James further commented.

“A lot has happened in the 12 months since our first InnovationAus Awards. A war in the Ukraine, soaring energy costs, supply chain complications, inflationary pressures and geostrategic tensions,” commented publisher, Corrie McLeod. 

“Include a backdrop of a growing climate emergency, and you get a picture of a fast moving and fluid set of challenges that must be addressed. Every country is looking hard at what its strengths are, where it needs to develop a sovereign capability, and Australia is no different.”

“The people in this room represent the research, innovation and entrepreneurial talent that are building the products, services and capability to address these challenges and prides itself in shining a bright light on the people and the companies that are building Australia’s future industries,” Corrie McLeod further commented. 

Who were the event headliners?

In addition, Australia’s Chief Scientist Dr Cathy Foley AO and business leader David Thodey AO were Award Patrons for the second year in a row, together with Kirsten Banks, Indigenous Australian astrophysicist and science communicator, as Master of Ceremonies, and an esteemed panel of advisors and judges. See the full list of winners below.

Australian Hero Award

Winner: Samsara Eco 

People’s Choice Award

Winner: Epiwatch   

Award for CreativeTech Award 

Winner: Ai-Media  

Highly commended finalist: Holovision  

Cybersecurity Award  

Winner: DTEX Systems  

Highly commended finalists: Sapien Cyber 


Defence and Defence-related Capability Award  

Winner: Technologies Pty Ltd  

Highly commended finalist: WithYouWithMe  

Digital Health and Health Tech Award  

Winner: Sleeptite Pty Ltd  

Highly commended finalist: 4eyesVision 

Energy and Renewables Award  

Winner: Samsara Eco  

Highly commended finalists: Cresstec Pty Ltd  

                                           Boundary Power 


                                           Horizon Power  


Food and AgriTech Award  

Winner: InvertiGro Pty Ltd  

Highly commended finalist: Hone Carbon  

Industry 4.0 Award  

Winner: Advanced Navigation 

Highly commended finalist: Silicon Quantum Computing  

Manufacturing Innovation Award  

Winner: Quantum Brilliance Pty Ltd  

Highly commended finalists: Silicon Quantum Computing  

                                           Xefco Pty Ltd  

Software Innovation Award  

Winner: Fivecast  

Highly commended finalist: Data Zoo  

Space, Earth Observation and Geospatial Award  

Winner: HEO Robotics  

Highly commended finalist: ANT61  

Translation Hero Award  

Winner: MGA Thermal  

Highly commended finalist: Silicon Quantum Computing  

The 2022 InnovationAus Awards for Excellence were sponsored by Investment NSW, AusIndustry, Australian Computer Society, Technology Council of Australia, Verizon, Mimecast, Microsoft Australia, Digital Health CRC (DHCRC), Agile Digital, METS Ignited, Innovation Manufacturing CRC (IMCRC), CSIRO, and Q-CTRL.