Cbus Super appoints Abha Devasia and Dave Noonan to its Board

Wayne Swan, Board Chair at Cbus Super

Cbus Super, Australia’s blue-collar superannuation fund, is set to farewell stalwart board directors with the retirements of Anne Donnellan and Frank O’Grady. Ms Donnellan will be replaced by AMWU National Legal Coordinator Abha Devasia, whilst retiring CFMMEU national construction secretary Dave Noonan will return to the Cbus Board to replace Mr O’Grady.

How integral have Donnellan and O’Grady been?

Cbus Board Chair Wayne Swan thanked Ms Donnellan and Mr O’Grady for their years of service and dedication to the Fund. “Both Anne and Frank have been exceptional advocates for the best interests of Cbus members for almost twenty years combined,” Mr Swan said.

“As part of the 1984 campaign that won superannuation for building workers and created the Fund, Frank has helped guide the member first focus of not just Cbus, but industry funds in general. Anne has been a fearless advocate in her time as a director and alternate director.”

“Her knowledge and experience of blue-collar members outside of the construction industry enabled her to make a valuable contribution to the board. Both Anne and Frank leave big shoes to fill and we thank them most sincerely for their effort and commitment to the Fund.”

What do Devasia and Noonan bring to Cbus?

Mr Swan said the appointment of Ms Devasia and Mr Noonan brings experience and fresh skills to the Board. “Abha is an advocate at heart and I am excited to see her bring her passion for supporting migrant workers and culturally diverse communities to the superannuation sector. Abha shares Anne’s passion and commitment for member outcomes and has a deep understanding of the issues workers face across blue collar industries.”

AAbha Devasia, Board Executive at Cbus Super

“She has a keen interest in governance through her work at the AMWU, her experience from service on government and NGO boards, and her insights and approach will provide value to the Fund. We are very pleased to welcome Abha to the Board and have no doubt that she will make an outstanding contribution on behalf of members,” Mr Swan commented.

“We also welcome back Dave Noonan to the Cbus Board. Dave is one of the nation’s most accomplished super fund trustees and was recognised as AIST Trustee of the Year in 2019.”

“Dave has served as Deputy Chair of the Fund and has a keen understanding of the Fund’s operation and the outcomes it delivers for members. His expert contribution on our investment committee has long been valued by our investment leaders. Most importantly, Dave takes the obligation for directors to question and provide challenge seriously.”

“Dave has never been backwards about coming forward when it comes to ensuring members are at the heart of everything Cbus does and we’re excited to welcome him back.”

Ms Devasia will join the Board in January, while Mr Noonan will re-join the Board in April.