AB InBev wins unprecedented back-to-back Creative Marketer of the Year

Michel Doukeris, Chief Executive Officer at AB InBev

AB InBev was once again named Creative Marketer of the Year by Cannes Lions. This is the first time in awards’ history that the same company has been selected two years in a row. The annual Creative Marketer of the Year (CMOY) award is presented to the marketer that has amassed an industry-leading body of Lion-winning work over a sustained period of time.

Why did AB InBev win its category?

CMOY recipients are recognized for producing innovative, impactful work that drives business performance. Past recipients include Microsoft, Apple, P&G, and Google. The Creative Marketer of the Year Award will be presented on Friday, June 23rd in Cannes, France.

“Considering AB InBev’s continued commitment to placing creativity at the center of its business, resulting in increased creative and financial performance, we have named ABI the Cannes Lions Creative Marketer of the Year in 2023,” said Simon Cook, CEO of LIONS.

“ABI is the first company to be awarded for two consecutive years. This win bucks the trend and demonstrates an on-going commitment to creativity as a driver for growth.”

What does the recognition mean for AB InBev?

“This is truly unprecedented to win such a prestigious award two years in a row. It is a testament to the creativity of our entire marketing organization and the relentless focus on connecting in meaningful ways with consumers,” said Michel Doukeris, CEO of AB InBev.

“Investing in organic growth is our number one priority and this recognition of creativity further demonstrates our brand building excellence,” Michel Doukeris further commented.

“Creativity becomes a competitive advantage when used to solve consumer and business problems. In 2022 we were named CMOY for the first time and finished the year with all time high volumes. It’s very exciting to start 2023 from the same place. We’ll continue to dream big with our great partners,” said Marcel Marcondes, Chief Marketing Officer of AB InBev.