AIPM announces the national winners for 2022 of its annual PMAA program

Simon Kaleski, Acting CEO of Australian Institute of Project Management

The Australian Institute of Project Management announced winners of the National Project Management Achievement Awards (PMAAs), recognising experts, firms, and projects across categories; Construction/Engineering, Govt, ICT/Telecom, Transformation, Small, Regional, Sustainable, Professional Services, and Project Management Office (PMO), and individual awards for Senior Project Professional, Project Professional, and Future Project Leader.

Receiving their awards at the Project Management Achievement Awards Dinner on Friday 24 March, the winners were honoured with one of Australia’s premier project management awards for their outstanding achievements in program and project management for 2022. 

Who were the PMAA winners for 2022?

Each year, project teams and individuals across Australia submit their entries, which are then assessed by a panel of experts. Winners of each category are awarded in two levels: chapter (state-based) and national. The chapter winners were announced at the end of 2022, and they became finalists for the national awards. The 2022 PMAA national award winners are:

Project of the Year Category Winner:

Senior Project Professionals Category Winner:

Project Professional Category Winner:

Future Project Leader (Under 35 Years) Category Winner:

Construction/Engineering Projects Category Winner:

Government Projects Category Winner:

ICT/Telecommunications Category Winner:

Transformation Projects Category Winner:

  • Joint Defence-Aurecon Ascend Program, Aurecon

Small Projects Category Winner:

  • RAAF Darwin – Banksian House Refurbishment, Aurecon

Regional Projects Category Winner:

Sustainable Projects Category Winner:

  • Circular Plastics Australia (PET) Recycling Facility, Albury-Wodonga NSW, Pact Group

Professional Services Projects Category Winner:

Project Management Office (PMO) Category Winner:

Why are is the awards program crucial for the industry?

Simon Kaleski, Acting CEO of Australian Institute of Project Management, said, “By entering the PMAAs, Aussie firms are benchmarking their outstanding achievements and innovations against peers. The calibre of entries was high for 2022, particularly given turbulent challenges facing the profession in past years. We are honoured to award winners for their outstanding management and project successes and for their commitment to achieving excellence.”

The AIPM calls for project professionals and firms who can share their project success. Submissions close for the 2023 PMAAs on 6 April 2023 (5pm AEST). Chapter presentation events and winners will be announced in August with the national PMAA presentation and winners announced on 30 Oct at the AIPM Conference at the Gold Coast Convention Centre.

For more than 20 years, the PMAAs has been the premier project management awards in Australia, recognising project professionals, organisations, and outstanding projects across industries. With over 10 award categories, the Project Management Achievement Awards offer numerous opportunities for project professionals to be recognised for their successes.